Disable Preloader

Advisory Board

Prof. Ashok Vohra
Member, Advisory Board

Sh. Ashok Vohra (b. 1949) is former Professor and Head Department of Philosophy, and Dean of Arts Faculty of University of Delhi. He taught for over a decade (1975-1986) at St Stephens College. He is currently teaching Philosophy in OP Jindal Global University. He was the Member Secretary of Indian Council of Philosophical Research from 1995 to 1998 and Director of Gandhi Bhawan, the Centre for Gandhian Studies and Peace Research of University of Delhi from 1998 to 2000. He was the Vice-president of UNESCO's Asia Pacific Philosophy Education for Democracy (APPEND) for a term of two years from January 1999 to December 2000. He was a member of the Panel on Philosophy of the University Grants Commission for a term of three years from April 1997 to March 2000. He was a member of the core group set up by the UGC in 2000 to revise the BA (Pass), BA (Hons) and MA syllabi in Philosophy. He was a member of Indian Council of Philosophical Research, New Delhi for a term of three years from 2009 to 2012. He was the Dean (Arts), Delhi University from August 16 to October 2, 2010; from June 23 to July 18, 2011 and again from May 22 to July 9, 2012.

He is on the editorial board of Humanitas Asiatica - an international bi-annual journal in Philosophy published from Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea; Suvidya: Journal of Philosophy and Religion published by Suvidya College, Banglore; and Indian Journal of Analytic Philosophy, published from Utkal University, Bhubaneshwar, Religious Thought, published by Al-Mustafa International University Iran, New Delhi, Unmilan¸ published by Darshana Pratishthana, Jaipur, and Ravenshaw Journal of Philosophy (RJB), Published by Ravenshaw University, Cuttack. He was on the editorial Board of Paramarsh, a quarterly journal of philosophy in Hindi, published by Pune University from 2001 to 2006, Journal of the Indian Council of Philosophical Research (JICPR), published by Indian Council of Philosophical Research, New Delhi from 2009 to April, 2012, Indian Philosophical Quarterly published by Pune University, Pune. He is a member of the Advisory Board of Dialalato Corde – An International Interdisciplinary Journal published from January 2011.

He was the General President of the Twentieth Session of the All Orissa Philosophical Congress held on 20-21 January, 2008 at Utkal University, Bhubaneshwar. Besides publishing more than two hundred (200) research papers and articles in national and international research journals, anthologies, and newspapers he has published Wittgenstein’s Philosophy of Mind (Croom Helm, London, Sydney, 1986), Reissued by Routledge, London, under its Routledge Revivals series 2014; and Mind, Morals and Self: A Philosophical Perspective, Viva Books, New Delhi, 2014; Co-authored with K. Satchidanada Murty Radhakrishnan: His Life and Ideas (State University of New York Press, New York, 1990; an earlier version of the book was published by Ajanta Publications in 1989; an abridged edition of the book was later published by Orient Paperbacks in 1993); Co-edited with Sibajiban Bhattacharyya The Philosophy of K. satchidanada Murty (ICPR, New Delhi, 1995); Co-edited with Mrinal Miri and Arvind Sharma Dharma: The Categorial Imperative, DK Publishers, 2005; He has also published the translations in to Hindi of Ludwig Wittgenstein’s four books viz, Philosophical Investigations (1996); On Certainty (1998); and Culture and Value (1998) - the three are published by ICPR; and Tractatus Logico Philosophicus (2016, Bhartiya Jananpitha). His translation of Radhakrishnan Memorial Lectures 1996 and 1997 was published by Indian Institute for Advanced Studies, Shimla in 2000. His manuscript titled “Reason, Revelation and Peace: Evaluation of the Philosophy of K. Satchidananda Murty” has been accepted for publication.

His book Wittgenstein’s Philosophy of Mind was adjudged the best Philosophy book and was awarded Swami Pranavanada Philosophy Prize for the year 1987 by Indian Philosophical Congress at its session held in Kashmir University, Srinagar. His translations of Wittgenstein’s Philosophical Investigations and On Certainty were awarded Swami Pranavanada Darshan Puruskar by the Akhil Bhartiya Darshan Parishad in the years 1996 and 1998 in its sessions held in Pune and Haridwar respectively.

Besides delivering a number of special lectures in various Universities in India, Mauritius, USA, UK, Austria, Japan, Thailand, Kenya, North Korea, South Korea, Lithuania, Greece, Czechoslovakia, and Canada, he has delivered The Ramalinga Reddy Endowment Lectures - the most prestigious of the endowment lectures of the University of Madras, in 1996 at the Radhakrishnan Institute for Advanced Study in Philosophy, University of Madras, Madras. He delivered the First Annual Professor K. Satchidananda Murty Memorial Lecture titled “The Notion of Indianness: An Elucidation” on January 24, 2012 in Acarya Nagarjuna University, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh. He also delivered the keynote and valedictory addresses at several National and International Seminars. He has not only participated in a number of national and international seminars, held in India and abroad, but has also organised several of them in India. He has been a member of academic bodies and selection committees of several universities and Public Service Commissions including UPSC. He was nominated by the Government of India for a term of three years as a member of the Court of HN Bahuguna Garhwal Central University, Srinagar from 2014 to 2017. He writes regularly for the Times of India, Hindustan Times, The Tribune, and The Pioneer on philosophical themes with a view to popularise them among common men. He is currently engaged in writing a book titled “Hinduism, Humanism and Human Rights”.